El Mariachi

 

Authentic Mexican Cuisine

REVIEWS

 

YELP

 
 

Kelly E., Valley Stream, NY
12/6/2014
I've passed by this place so many times and never thought about going in for some reason! On a Friday night, me and 3 friends came to check it out! We were seated immediately and our waitress was great! I got a steak chimichanga which I thought was pretty delicious! And we also got the chile con queso for the appetizer. I love queso but it was like pretty spicy so just be prepared for that! The dessert was awesome! Get the banana cheesecake chimichanga thing!!! Incrediblydelicious. 

I liked all aspects of my meal and the service was great!!

 
 

Amanda S.
Albany, NY

9/7/2014
I've been to El Mariachi a few times and have always had a pleasant experience. I've always gotten the chicken quesedilla. It's pretty good. I don't think it's anything special in terms of quesedillas, but it's definitely not bad. Of all the times I've gone with coworkers and friends, no one has ever had a complaint regarding the food.

I do like the chile con queso a lot. It's got a little bit of spice but not too much.  I have noticed, however, that when you order this to go, you have to also pay for the chips. I find this very ridiculous. I find it ridiculous mostly because if you eat in the restaurant, they serve chips and salsa and you don't have to pay an additional fee for it. Oh well.

I also enjoyed a frozen strawberry margarita. It was HUGE! And delicious... they certainly are generous with the tequila. 

And lastly, last night when I went my fiance and I ordered the chocolate lava cake. It was SO good! It was very chocolatey, yet not overpowering. It could, however, have used some ice cream either on top of it or on the side. El Mariachi also had a peanut butter cheesecake that looked AMAZING. Next time I go, I'm definitely ordering that...and I can't wait!

The restaurant itself is quaint. It's a decent size, but the tables are super close together. And it's very loud! I was pleasantly surprised last night around 7 (on a Saturday) and the place wasn't packed - there was no wait. Great surprise! The service was very quick too. 

I'd definitely recommend!

 
 

Roger P., Albany, NY
8/31/2014
My favorite Mexican restaurant in Albany. Just always a great time. Go off hours and sit on the back porch in the summer for a really great meal.

 
 

Regina D, Albany, NY
10/9/2013
Score! Mexican food served up while I relax on the summer patio in the back... take your waitresses suggestions to heart, thigh, or wherever the tacos, enchilidas, or rice may go... I forgot what I ate, because by the time it arrived, I devoured it, and then poof it was gone. Oopsy!

Go as a group, for something walking distance from downtown, and for amazing portions.

 
 

Tripadvisor

 
 

Wonderful Mexican Fare”
Reviewed January 2, 2015NEW
This establishment offers delicious Mexican food in a lovely setting on Washington Ave. opposite Albany Institute. Their mole is marvelous. Ample food is provided if you order a fajita. Sangria is great and, of course, the nachos are endless. We love this restaurant!

 
 

AMAZING”
Reviewed December 28, 2014
The best food, service, price and MARGARITAS!!! really nice place, if you stay in Albany a couple of days you must go to Mariachis

 
 

Best Mexican restaurant in capital district! ”
Reviewed November 15, 2014
This is real mexican food may by real Mexicans. It has a large menu with many items you'll find only here in the Capital District at this restaurant. You can get all the standard Mexican and Tex Mexfood but also Mexican stews Mexican soups and Mexican seafood. From high-end Mexican Spanish paella 2 goat and tongue tacos and real...

 
 

Enjoyed my experience!”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile
My date and i enjoyed the margaritas.....! I chose the Tacos Al Carbon and was pleasantly pleased with the flavor...! Will come back again!

 
 

Great food and drinks”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile
We stayed nearby for Albany orientation. Found the other location 144 Washington avenue close to downtown Albany. You know what they say about those small holes in the wall the food is great and it truly was. Had the chicken fajitas and was so good and fresh. The margaritas were awesome will go back when visiting my son at...More  

 
 

Times Union

 
 

EJ on 7/21/2010
Comments: Love this place and always look forward to the next visit. I don't get to spend too much time downtown, but when I do we make sure to head over to El Mariachi II. Very convenient to the Plaza. The food has never disappointed me, and the service has never been of such caliber as to cause me to not want to come back. Delightful setting, and the outdoor dining is a real treat if the weather cooperates. Plenty of parking directly across the street from the restaurant. Very reasonable cost.

 
 

Miranda Forster on 1/20/2008
Comments: This is a place where not only does everyone know your name, but they remember what drink is your favorite, and they know your order before you do. It's refreshing to patronize a restaurant that clearly knows how to treat it's employees, because you see the same faces every time you go. This means they are knowledgeable about the menu, and are quick to give an informed recommendation. They are gracious and friendly every time we go...and to the $2 Coors Light fan below, the going rate for a margarita ANYWHERE is $7, and these are made with top shelf tequila and REAL fruit puree. Well worth the money.

 
 

Tanya Amodio on 6/28/2004
Comments: I have lived in Mexico and have since then visited several times. The food and the atmosphere created by the proprietors is truly authentic. My experience is always enjoyable.

 
 

Ken Davenport on 1/27/2004
Comments: This is the most authentic Mexican that I have tried in New York.

 
 

Google

 
 

Lorre S
7 months ago-
I've been going to El Mariachi restaurants for a long time and they have stayed consistently good. I've tasted a lot of the menu, which is quite diverse - well beyond the familiar tacos and tamales, into some of the lovely regional dishes. Staff .

 
 

Rachel Hardinger
2 years ago
Awesome food, big portions , low lighting and intimate, nice service staff, didn't love the chips (too thick for my taste) and salsa portion tiny bit they were happy to give us as much as we wanted. The tomales and chile relleno was awesome!!!

 
 

Lacey Cukier
3 years ago
The food was amazingly authentic. It's also rare for me to find vegetarian dishes at Mexican restaurants, but there was a whole section of yummyness for me :) The music, service, and atmosphere were absolutely wonderful as well.

 
 

Rachel Nichols
7 months ago
The BEST Mexican Food in the Capital District!

 
 

Patricia Welch
8 months ago
Love the salsa here!